Romance Weekly #LoveWriteChat

Image

Fanfare and special effects!

So happy to part of the wonderful tag team of talented writers in Romance Weekly’s round-robin interview. If this is your first time, each week a bunch of authors answer the same three questions and you can hop from blog to blog seeing how we all answered and learn a little more about us. This week’s questions come from J.J. Devine.

The answer to the first question, “How do you handle when someone says, “I have a story you should write,’” I guess it depends on whether I’m operating in Guilty Good Girl mode or feeling self-preserving (more polite than ‘like a tyrannical beotch, right?). My husband’s Great Uncle Harry used to bug me to write his life story. That it was so extremely fascinating. The man was 90, blind and had a thick Romanian accent. His story was really not that interesting. But he was family. So I nodded politely, if uncomfortably, stating biographies weren’t my forte. I think if anyone were going to feed me that line now, I would respond, “Oh really? How much are you willing to pay me to write it?” I mean, I have no problem investing my time and creative energy in my own projects, but it would have to come with a hefty price tag for someone else.

“Do I write what I read”…If you mean the romance genre, yes, voraciously, among other genres. I love story and I particularly love stories of relationship. What can I say? I’m a girl. Relationships fascinate me. I like fictionalized history, and nonfiction.

“People often mistake the lifestyle of a writer as glamorous, give us the scoop, what about your lifestyle would shock your readers?”

Are we talking staying in jammies until 20 minutes before hubby comes home and stretching out the dirty-hair days? Ignoring the fridge, which is desperately growing moldy bits in the back? Finding small dog pee puddles when the scratching and whining didn’t penetrate my world building? What about the self-doubt? Sobbing into pillows and indulging in ice cream fests when daunted by the seemingly insurmountable task of getting published, re-published, or even just finishing my freaking word count for the day. Yeah. That’s why I write. For the glamour. Image

Hit this link http://www.carolynspearromance.com/blog.html to see how author of ‘Guarding His Heart’, Carolyn Spear answered these questions.

7 comments

  1. Totally agree with charging a hefty price for writing someone else’s story. Those ghost writers of James Patterson don’t do it for nothing! Glad your on the RW team!

Leave a Reply

