Romance Weekly #LoveWrite Chat

Welcome to my corner of the weekly romance writers round robin. Where you’re invited to hop from blog to blog to see how active romance writers answer the same interview questions.This week the queries are—

1. How do you find the appropriate setting for the story, or does it find you?

Grandma-Moses-The-PondSetting is really important to me. Almost like another main character in the book because informs so much. It’s kind of like the medium of a painting. Is it canvas? 8 x12? 1 x 2? Is it Egyptian papyrus, Asian onion skin, or wooden clapboards hammered together, like Grandma Moses used?

 

 

Roatan, Honduras - 1600x1200 - ID 37681 - PREMIUMy first three books were set in New England and Montreal because that’s what I know. My WIP is set in the Caribbean, namely Roatan, my favorite scuba diving island. I think the setting and one of the characters come to me first hand in hand. They’re somewhat malleable, but kind of a package deal. So, I guess the setting finds me.

 

2. What is your support system for your writing?  Family, friends, other writers?

Unknown-3My husband, daughters and sister are very supportive. I come from an acting background and a lot of my acting buddies also write or direct or do something on the side to further ground their creative energy. All very encouraging. But I couldn’t do this without the women I’ve befriended in RWA, and this Romance Weekly spot (!) and I wouldn’t have gotten back to it after a ten-year hiatus if it hadn’t been for Sarah Hegger. Former neighbor and gym buddy, she is my primary writing support, my critique partner and general lighter of the Bic under the butt. And I love her dearly.

3. What is the worst writing advice you ever received and how did you deal with it?

images-18Oh poop. Not well. I listened to someone who didn’t know my genre and wasn’t published herself, who ripped at my structure and taped over my mouth. I was stymied for almost a year, staring at the walls, trying to fix something that wasn’t necessarily broken. The good that came out of it is that I’m more selective with whom I share my work and I know the difference between my voice and the story elements.

Next blog on the tour? Author of Redemption for Liars, Elizabeth Janette! Conveniently located at

http://elizabethjanette.com

 

13 comments

  1. Critiquing and being critiqued is so hard! But it is vital to get other opinions – it’s just figuring out what to ignore and what to accept (no matter how much you love what you’ve written)

  2. Love the relationship you have with Sarah. It’s very disheartening to push through another person’s negativity. That’s why its so important to keep our circle to those who’s comments are worth something.

  3. We’d like to think that all critiquing is for our benefit (and usually it is) but occasionally we trust the wrong person. That’s why I think it’s important to have more than one crit partner. If they are all saying the same thing. Listen. If one hates something but another loves it, you have to decide what works best for your story.

Leave a Reply

