Romance Weekly #Lovewritechat

1800345_3892811416881_1530229219_n

 

from SoulMate Publishing

from SoulMate Publishing

Welcome to my corner of the weekly romance writers round robin.

Thanks to Jo Richardson, author of  Cursed Be the Wicked, for the hand-off.

This week’s questions come from Julie Abdinoor, who shares my fondness for Michael Fassbender.

 

 

 

1. What ages are your characters? 

I write contemporaries and my main characters are from their mid-twenties to mid thirties. Marine biologist Arabella in my WIP Stolen Heart is 29 and ex-Marine Gus is 33.

from Freedom is Not Free Calendar

from Freedom is Not Free Calendar

So, old enough to have had their hearts broken at least once, launched careers or finished school and to have racked up a life event or two. I’d love to see romances with older characters (forties, fifties) because they carry an even richer layer of experience. Plus there’s the whole boomer thing. I may write some myself in the future.

2. What special things or places inspire you to write?

View from my Mom's

View from my Mom’s

I grew up on Lake Erie with this view out my window. Beaches, lake views, anyplace with water, sky and trees do it for me. I’m always very inspired on vacation. Give me a day or two to relax, and I’m cooking up new characters and plot points.

 

3. What is the one message you hope women will receive when they read your stories?

Live life to the fullest. Trust yourself. Nothing is set in stone and the rule book is always being re-written. Explore, dance, sing, live, love, laugh. We only get one go-around. Carpe diem!

 

J.J. Devine knows how to seize the day. Her The Cheyenne Bride was just named Finalist for the 2014 Red Carpet Books Award. Woot! To see how she answered these questions check out:

http://definingjjdevine.weebly.com/ramblings-of-a-writer.html

 

 

11 comments

  1. Ha! Kim! I’m the same way with vacations. I come back from each one with some new idea that never gets followed up on. lol 🙂 Love the answers! xoxo

  2. Thank you so much, Kim, for the wonderful introduction 🙂 I am starting to think a few of us should put together an anthology for older heroes and heroines 🙂 Great answers!!!

Leave a Reply

