The Writing Process Blog Tour

The MEANS to the end. That’s what this tour is about. Someone (Day’s) contacted me. I post and tag three others. See end of this post for those deets.

Thank-you Day’s Lee for inviting me to take part in this blog tour.  Day’s and I met years ago travelling back and forth from Montreal to Ottawa for ORWA (Ottawa Romance Writers of America) Meetings. Day’s is currently putting together a collection of short stories called The Red Pagoda and Other Stories. Read her post on her writing process at http://dayslee.wordpress.com/2014/05/05/my-writing-process-blog-tour/

And now, on to the questions…

What are you working on?

A romantic contemporary series about three siblings, Matt, Arabella and Sebastian Beaumont. The first, Stolen Kiss is being subjected to yet another rigorous swath of editing (merci to the Margie Lawson lectures and method).

images-4Matt and Ruby’s love story. It’s essentially a road trip between a Boston princess and a hot mechanic with bad guys getting in the way. And I’m in the midst of pouring out a rough draft of the second book, Stolen Heart. It features marine biologist Arabella and the last person she would ever want as her bodyguard, Gus McIsaac. The third, Stolen Love is in the dream stage, with the hero, Seb a reformed felon, fully developed and a good glimpse of the heroine, single mom-social worker Mari captured.

How does your work differ from others of its genre?

I think the same thing that it comes down to for most genre fiction writers: images-9My voice. It’s pretty strong. I try to surprise and delight myself and my readers. Fresh twists are key and I love humor. I pour that sh*t on everything. Acting for most of my life and all the human study that involves certainly adds color. Years in various media made me a fair wordsmith. My own mass cornucopia of life adventures taught me to throw my characters into the deepest end of an orca tank and see how they survive.

 Why do you write what you do?

I love people and relationship and the diversion romance brings. Plus, the romance genre is really quite a feminist vehicle. allposters.com_It was born out the notion of love and the right to choose your life partner in a time when women didn’t often have that freedom. It’s evolved to the current standard where the heroine literally brings her partner to his knees (in a proposal, or at least the happy intention of a long life together). The matriarch of my family (93, still kicking, also a fan of romance novels) once said to me, “The world always needs more love.” I agree with her.

How does your writing process work?

Characters first. Sometimes just a hazy outline. Sometimes clearer than HDTV. Ruby, the heroine in the first book of the Stolen series popped Unknown-1into my head on a family car trip through the Yukon and wisecracked, “So Kim, when are you going to write my story?” After I write out character sketches, my fiction people percolate in a lot of dreamtime. I interview them and build back-story. Then I use a structure template, like Snyder’s Save the Cat and pump out a dirty draft. Then I rewrite. Many times. Eliminate passive voice, weed out clichés (irony alert), bring my own flavors to the soup. Lastly, read it out loud. In my day job, I’m a very well paid voice actor. Nothing beats reading text out loud to check for rhythm, flow and errors.

 

Hey this was fun. Let me introduce the ladies, three of my Romance Weekly sisters, to whom I am passing the virtual blog baton—the blogon. Check their posts May 19:

GetAttachment-1.aspxJ.J. Devine grew up loving the written word. She spent her days daydreaming and imagining what life would be like if she lived between the pages of the books she read. Today, she still spends her days dreaming. Only now she pens them into the romance novels she enjoys writing to share with her readers. On her down time, she enjoys spending time with her hubby, children, grandchildren, and pets. As well as helping to bring public awareness on the subject of domestic violence.

http://definingjjdevine.weebly.com/ramblings-of-a-writer.html

 

GetAttachment.aspxJeana Mann is the author of sizzling hot contemporary romance. Her debut release Intoxicated was a First Place Winner of the 2013 Cleveland Rocks Romance Contest and a finalist for the Carolyn Readers Choice Award. She is a member of Romance Writers of America (RWA), Crossroads Romance Writers, Indiana RWA, and Celtic Heart RWA.

 

http://jeanaemann.net/

 

GetAttachment-2.aspxCarolyn Spear, a mother of two and wife of one, lives to read, garden and explore. She channels characters’ stories to share with others. A strange combination of small town girl, travel enthusiast and geek, she is thrilled to be a part of the shared world of the Wiccan Haus.

 

http://www.carolynspearromance.com/blog.html

 

 

Thanks SO much for stopping by. Grateful for your presence. More delighted by comments than chocolate.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

