#LoveWriteChat

1609641_3842918449588_1676216610_n

Release Date: May 30th!

Release Date: May 30th!

 

You’ve found it! My cubby in the compendium of the wonderful writers of Romance Weekly. Welcome.

 

Thanks Dani Jace for the intro! And to award winning novelist Kate Robbins, whose second Promised to the Highlander in the Highland Chiefs series is being released this Friday, asker of this week’s questions.

 

How much of yourself do you write into your characters? Or do you write characters completely opposite to you?

524013-bigthumbnailWith acting or writing, some bits of me go into all my characters. It’s my interpretation of them. How they feel, what they think, how they act–it’s filtered through me. It’s me/not me. So, kind of like drip coffee, the flavor of me, makes its way into my characters. None of which are autobiographical, if that’s what you mean. Stolen Kiss features a mechanic and a financier. Neither of them me. But their lessons? He has to learn he’s not responsible for and can’t change his brother. She has to draw firm boundaries and stand up for the right to live/lead her own life. I’ve had to do all those things. So yeah, those parts are me.  

Has your writing helped you see events in your own life clearer?

Unknown-1This question surprised me because upon reflection, the answer is yes and I thought it would be ‘negatory, good buddy.’ Not only the practice of writing, but my writing path, my road to publication— absolutely have reinforced so many life lessons. Patience, perseverance, trust, discipline, love. When contemplating and poking inside the head of another who loves or is falling in love, you remember how/why you fell in love. Writing romance (like reading it) has really helped my marriage and all my relationships.

Have you written a character with more of your personal characteristics than any other? What are they?

Photo on 2013-10-24 at 12.55Not really. I think they all are subjected to that special Kim Koffee Blend. Like the acting roles I’ve played (moms before I was a mom, a really bitter alcoholic, a murderess, a Danish queen, an Israeli Field Commander), the characters I write are separate entities unto themselves. They even talk to me and occasionally one will try to lead a coup and take over the story. (Don’t yours do that to you?) But someone’s got to be in charge. Ca, c’est moi.

 

Wasn’t this fun? Please hop on to the next blog on our tour and see how Fiona Riplee, author of The Sixxers, answered these fine questions.

http://fionariplee.com/blog

 

And don’t be shy to leave a comment. I’m not. 😀

16 comments

  1. You know, I hadn’t thought about the growth aspect writing’s had on me…particularly where patience and perseverance are concerned, but it’s definitely working me over on both of those. Thanks for the post!

  2. I adore your comments, and I don’t know about you, but I truly believe the questions this week helped all of us flush out our characters in the novels we write. Do you agree?!

Leave a Reply

