#LoveWriteChat

 

1609641_3842918449588_1676216610_n

 

images-8Ever wonder how the minds of authors tick? Welcome to Romance Weekly, the blog tour where we unscrew the watch face and let you see the inner workings. If you’ve come from Rhenna Morgan site, welcome! This week’s questions come from moi, with a little inspiration from Ryan.

 

What’s your ideal: alpha or beta and why?

RYAN-GOSLING-MEME-2In life, my first love was an alpha male and that didn’t work out so well. My first husband was a beta and that sucked too. The man I’ve been married to for 20+ years is a beta with a nice slice of alpha on the side. And I think that’s the kind of hero in fiction I’m most drawn to as well. I need that kind of rev in the girl parts a good alpha hero triggers, and the gooey marshmallow center he eventually reveals, but fervent feminist that I am, the beta has appeal that speaks to the staying power required of a happily ever after. (in my humble opinion) And apparently some people call this combo kind of guy a gamma. Others say a gamma is indifferent to the heroine (thus my reluctance to use that term) and why I prefer to call him Combo Man. Ooh. Then we’d have the A,B,C’s of heroes, right? Alpha, Beta, Combo. Purrrr.

Do you have a male buddy or mate you use for confirmation or inspiration when crafting your heroes? 80-best-ryan-gosling-hey-large-msg-136752204773

I absolutely talk to my darling husband, Edward for references on all things male. Underwear preferences. The male nipple arousal myth. All the naughty stuff. I have to keep in mind he has a very developed Yin. So not all his answers may apply. Other inspirations may come from movies, billboards, people on the street, observations. Then there’s the heroes themselves. Once they’re fully formed in my imagination. I talk to them. Ask them. What would you do Matt? Gus? Seb? And of course, they talk back. As long as no one consults the DSM IV criteria (of Mental Disorders), I’m still good.

What does any hero have to do to win your heart?

tumblr_lytzrqtBOc1r9ggz7o1_500Love the heroine. Be her rock. Be willing to humble (not humiliate) himself in front of her. Be willing to listen. Treat her right. Those are the most important things. In the not necessary, but-it’s-kind-of-like-topping-on-ice-cream category, he needs to be able to tick off one little attribute from my hero check list: he’s a good cook, OR he brings home lots of money OR he can fix anything OR he gives killer massage.

 

 

 

This was fun! Let’s hop on to Heart’s Ease series author Victoria Barbour’s site and see how she answered these questions.

http://victoriabarbour.com/blog Heart's Ease Banner

Comments make my day! ❤

19 comments

    1. Right? I mean, guys have no sensitivity there. (At least that’s been my experience) So, whenever I read about a hero who hisses on an indrawn breath when a woman scratches his nipple, I think the writer is a virgin spinster.

  1. Love your answers, Kim! The gamma combo is great. My hubby after 40 yrs has become beta with the marshmallow insides. I miss his alpha! Lol and your pics are awesome!

  2. Umm, sorry. I’m going to have to go on record as disproving the nipple myth. There’s some real connections there in guys too, at least from my experiences.

Leave a Reply

