#LoveWriteChat

1609641_3842918449588_1676216610_n

images-11UnknownWelcome to the Romance Weekly blog hop! Thanks to awesome Amy Jarecki, author of Beauty and the Barbarian for the hand-off. And to the fabulous Jami Denise, author of The Queen of Hearts for this week’s questions.

 

 

When writing your novel, do you know how it’s going to end before you write, or do you write from start to finish?

heartMy process is still under construction. I cannot write more than about three chapters without having some sort of blueprint, like a plot outline. This bothers me because I’d love to be able to write organically. I admire the authors that do and their trust and total connection to the Great Whammy Dammy. I’m just not there. From my acting experience (and numerous devotions to thespian gods Sanford images-3Meisner & Uta Hagen) ‘natural’ comes about with disciplined daily practice of working with those building blocks, the voice, the body, the imagination. It’s a transferable skill and approach that I apply to writing and boils down to: concentrate on the craft. SO even though the story may change/shift (read: improve) in the process, now I always plot from start to finish before I write. It saves tears.

 

How do the people you know impact your writing? Are you influenced by friends and family for your characters?

861320_f260I draw from the people I know in two ways: 1) for coloring my characters. You know shades and slivers, texture and tone. But it’s never a portrait. Otherwise I wouldn’t have as much control over my characters. It’s more like a point of departure. Tukie Cohen, the aging hippie godmother in Stolen Kiss was originally inspired by a dear friend. The only thing they have in common now is long strawberry blonde hair and a penchant for the occult. Otherwise they are very different people. Tukie, like all characters once they’re fully formed, has a mind of her own. 2) by adding to my personal aquifer of observations of humanity. All the wonderfully diverse crazy and serious people I’ve known help me tap into believable actions and reactions.

 

Describe the hero in your current WIP in three words.

22d5cb21e98ef8b7cff533818b7848efI’m writing Stolen Heart (Gus) and editing Stolen Kiss (Matt) at the same time, so:

 

Matt Beaumont – devoted, sensual, lumberjack (he’s not a lumberjack, that’s just how the heroine sees him)

 

Augustus (Gus) MacIsaac – passionate, faithful, wounded

 

(Yes, this is a picture of Jake Gyllenhaal)

661f92_ff2541fde8b1431982d0f47354f3954e.jpg_srz_156_234_85_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_jpg_srz

 

Follow me. I’m going to check out how Veronica Forand answered these questions. This is Veronica’s first appearance on the Romance Weekly blog hop and we’re excited to have her. She just sold three romantic thrillers to Entangled Publishing and her first sweet and sexy novella, Tackled by the Girl Next Door comes out with Wild Rose Press this October (in time for football season):

http://veronicaforand.com

29 comments

  1. Plotting hasn’t seemed to work for me either, but now with my WIP I seem t be stumbling. I think I might give it a try!! Love your post!

  2. I can’t imagine plotting everything out but I bet it makes for much easier synopsis writing. It would be an interesting experience for pansters (like me) to try that and for plotters to sit down to a blank screen! Love your three words for your characters and love the hippie pic. I have hippies in my upcoming release!

    1. Thanks so much Carrie! My husband (& a couple friends) occasionally turn into lumberjacks in the spring or fall chop wood for the winter – (and bend and flex and go ahead – take your shirt off) 😉

  3. I’m intrigued by the lumberjack and picture of Jake. 🙂
    I wanted so much to be a plotter but it does not work out for me. I guess I’m termed an organic writer and jealous of those who plan.

  4. I complete a six stage plot structure questionnaire, but I never plot anything out beyond basic character sketch and story line. You might think you don’t write organically but I think you must. You seem very organized to me.

  5. I’m pretty sure if I tried to plot I would never end the book how I plotted it LOL. I envy you for being able to do this!!! Great blog and yummy heroes!!!

Leave a Reply

